Lurie Children’s Ball Draws Over 1000 Celebrators





With a goal to help the Children’s Research Fund “rewrite the possibilities” for patients and families treated at Lurie Children’s Hospital, the recent Children’s Ball raised more than $3.75 million to further advance innovative medical research at the Stanley Manne Children’s Research Institute at Lurie’s.


2017 Children’s Ball Co-Chairs John H. Simpson and Laura and Craig Martin.

Chairs Laura and Craig Martin and John Simpson spoke, following a performance by Children’s Hospital champion, patient Olivia Ports, 17, who sang “The First Day of My Life” by Bright Eyes, the American indie rock band, to describe her life-changing experience at the hospital.


2018 Co-Chairs Chris Keogh and Trish Rooney with Dr. Tom Shanley, President and Chief Research Officer, Stanley Manne Children’s Research Institute.


Ben Drescher, Arielle Neiger, Zach Smith, Rachel Drescher Smith, Dennis Drescher, Donna Drescher, Jacob Drescher, and Jessica Drescher.

Lurie President and CEO, Patrick Magoon; Chief Research Officer at the Manne Institute, Dr. Thomas Stanley; and Children’s Research Fund Chair, Donna Drescher; also spoke before a live auction, paddle raise, and dancing to the music of the Larry King Orchestra. Donna said:

“The overarching goal is eradicating the suffering caused by debilitating diseases and birth defects. Our board members and guests depart from the event knowing that their contributions are providing cutting-edge research, precision treatment methods, and customized care.”

The funds raised at the extraordinary celebration of Lurie’s international yet individual-by-individual role in changing children’s lives go towards the $10 million commitment to the full spectrum of research conducted at the Manne Research Institute.


Dr. Derek J. Robinson, Dr. Shawn Robinson, Darrel Hackett, Kim Smith, and Eric Smith.


Lester Crown, Laura Keidan Martin, Renee Crown, and Craig Martin.


John H. Simpson and Mayor Rahm Emanuel.


Chris and Karen Segal.


David Rudis and Pauline Schultz, Mary and Paul Yovovitch, and Robin and Mike Zafirovski.


Stanley Manne, Pam Stamataky, Fren Lentini Manne, Kim Jones, and Marit and Jacques Bohbot.


Devanee and Alex Washington.


Joe and Jay Scoby with Sean Conroy and Nora Daley (Conroy).


2018 Co-Chairs Chris Keogh and Trish Rooney with Mayor Rahm Emanuel.


Bill and Debbie Lewin.


John and Ann Amboian.


Dr. Tom Shanely with wife, Maureen, and Lisa and Seth Prostic.


Trish Rooney, Wendy Olt, Tonya Hillenbrand, Schuyler Levin, Nooshin Felsenthal, and Danielle Kaufman.

Photo credit: Ana Miyares